Making the Frozen Serpent Dance (2001), Davide Zannoni

Making the Frozen Serpent Dance (2001), Davide Zannoni

Making The Frozen Serpent Dance, for saxophone quartet, was written with the intent to pay an affectionate tribute to some of the music that played an important role in my artistic evolution. In addition to the presence of harmonies and scales typical of jazz, something not unusual in my music, the work presents references to musical worlds often rather distant from each other, especially in the final movement. The title comes from a poem by Robert Lowell." The work is structured in three movements: Read more »

Zannoni, Davide

DAVIDE ZANNONI was born in Spoleto, Italy. He started his career as a jazz drummer, subsequently joining the Maggio Fiorentino Orchestra, under the direction of Zubin Mehta in Florence, Italy as a percussionist. He also received a Ph.D. in Humanities from the University of Bologna. After studying composition and piano privately in Italy, he accepted a scholarship from Queens College, where he studied with Thea Musgrave and received his M.A. Read more »

Quality shows

Works reviewed: 
The Art of the Fugue, J.S. Bach
Motherless Child Variations (2002), Perry Goldstein
Quartet for Four Saxophones (1989), Anita D. Perry
Making the Frozen Serpent Dance (2001), Davide Zannoni
Yuppieville Rodeo (1993), Mike Mower
Phantom Melos, Rocco DiPietro
Buffalo News, The
Buffalo, NY
Nov 22 2002
Jan Jezioro

Earlier this year, the Amherst Saxophone Quartet was knocked out of their position as quartet-in-residence at the University at Buffalo, not for any reason that was based on their level of artistic accomplishment (round up the usual weak-kneed suspects: budgetary shortfall, etc.). Thursday evening, at their Allen Hall concert, broadcast live on WBFO, the ASQ clearly demonstrated by their high performance level that they were by no means ready to throw in the towel. Read more »

Making the Frozen Serpent Dance (2001), Davide Zannoni

Sax Quartets 1978 - Present
Composer First Names: 
Composition Date: 
Composed for the ASQ: 
Sound Samples
Ansioso (The Serpent)
Ballad (The Frozen)
Finale (The Dance)
Syndicate content