Nostalgias, J.C. Cobian

Saxophone quartet tunes in world of sound

Works reviewed: 
Stepping Out (1989), David Kechley
Cafeteria Suite, Leopold Godowsky III
Four, for Tango (1987), Astor Piazzolla
Nostalgias, J.C. Cobian
Garufa, J.A. Collazo
Wapango, Paquito D'Rivera
Nina's Samba, Stephen Parisi
Buffalo News, The
Buffalo, NY
Oct 13 2001
Garaud MacTaggart

The Amherst Saxophone Quartet is a wonderful ensemble and a Western New York treasure. The group seems to be at home with more-adventurous material, but it plays arrangements of George Gershwin and Eubie Blake tunes with equal aplomb. That is probably why its concert series has become a mini-event over the last 24 years and why its concert Friday evening was attended by a number of repeat "customers."

Music from the New World could have been the theme, but calling the program a "celebration of music from North and South America: got the point across, too. Read more »

Nostalgias, J.C. Cobian

Sax Quartet with Orchestra, Chorus
Composer First Names: 
Alejandro Rutty
Composed for the ASQ: 
Syndicate content