The Seven Churches of Easter, Richmond 1984 (2002), Tayloe Harding

Seven Churches of Easter, Richmond 1984 (2002), Tayloe Harding

The Seven Churches of Easter, Richmond 1984 (2002) was commissioned by the Amherst, Chicago, and Ancia Saxophone Quartets. The Seven Churches is scored for traditional saxophone quartet and is in seven movements, each dedicated to a different episcopal church in Richmond, VA. The work is inspired by the composer’s visits to each of these seven churches during the seven weeks of the Easter season following the death of his father in 1984. Read more »

Harding, Tayloe

TAYLOE HARDING is the Head of the Department of Music and Associate Professor of Music at Valdosta State University. A composer, Dr. Harding's works have received performances throughout the United States, Canada, Europe, Australia, and Japan. He has received grants from Meet the Composer, the National Endowment for the Arts, Lila Wallace-Readers' Digest Foundation, Philip Morris, Inc.. and a variety of state and local agencies. Dr. Harding and his wife Christine Carere Harding are very proud of their family, including children Marvel, Maddie, Chase, Mimi, and Grace.

Amherst Saxophone Quartet

Works reviewed: 
Prelude and Fugue No. 5 in D major from Book II, Johann Sebastian Bach
The Seven Churches of Easter, Richmond 1984 (2002), Tayloe Harding
Lament on the Death of Music, Leila Lustig
Labyrinth, Calvin Hampton
Buffalo News, The
Buffalo, NY
Mar 25 2002
Jan Jezioro

The Amherst Saxophone Quartet concluded its Westminster Presbyterian season Friday evening with a flourish, in a program that included both a world premiere and a special guest, soprano Dora Ohrenstein.

An arrangement of the Prelude and Fugue V, from Book II of Bach's "Well-tempered Clavier," helped establish the tone for the first half of the evening. The well-blended sound was evident in the celebratory opening Prelude, while their stately measured playing of the Fugue dissolved the sense of the present. Read more »

The Seven Churches of Easter, Richmond 1984 (2002), Tayloe Harding

Sax Quartets 1978 - Present
Composer First Names: 
Composition Date: 
Composed for the ASQ: 
Composed for the ASQ
Sound Samples
I. All Saints
II. St. John's
III. St. Matthew's
IV. Holy Comforter
V. St. James'
VI. St. Paul's
VII. Grace and Holy Trinity
Syndicate content