Panta Rei (1997), Charles Griffin

Back saxes

Works reviewed: 
Evade Dave (1999), Dave Sipos
Panta Rei (1997), Charles Griffin
Canonic Suite (1945, revised 1981), Elliott Carter
Sonata (1975), Jerome Moross
Clapping Music (1972), Steve Reich
Quartet for Saxophones (1990), Tayloe Harding
Buffalo News
Buffalo, NY
Sep 10 1999
Herman Trotter

TWO WORLD premieres were featured in Thursday evening's concert by the Amherst Saxophone Quartet, The program, "American Variations," was in Slee Hall, VB North Campus; and will be repeated at 7:30 p.m. next Friday in Westminster Presbyterian Church.

There was enough music built on repetitive, orderly devices such as canon, phase shifting and retrograde that the program assumed an almost neo-baroque dominant tone. Read more »

Panta Rei (1997), Charles Griffin

Panta Rei is a Greek expression attributed to Heraclitus (536-470 BC). The expression is meant to capture the experience of the flow of time. He argued that "One cannot step into the same stream twice, for other waters and yet others go ever flowing on" - that everything is constantly changing, from the smallest grain of sand to the stars in the sky. This description is also appropriate for a great deal of music, the art form most dependent on the flow of time and our experience of that flow.

Griffin, Charles

1968 —

Griffin, Charles was born in New York in 1968. He earned a B.A. in voice and composition and an M.A. in composition from Queens College, City University of New York, and a Ph.D. from the University of Minnesota. He has studied composition with Bruce Saylor, Judith Lang-Zaimont, Dominick Argento and Stephen Paulus. A composer of chamber, orchestral, vocal and choral music, his works have been performed throughout the U.S. and in Europe by such ensembles as the Meridian String Quartet, The Mariah Wind Trio, and The Quintet of the Americas.

Panta Rei (1997), Charles Griffin

Sax Quartets 1978 - Present
Composer First Names: 
Composition Date: 
Composed for the ASQ: 
Composed for the ASQ
Syndicate content