Mass Transit (1989), David P. Jones

Amherst Saxophone Quartet finds modern music that fills the bill

Works reviewed: 
Rudy Wiedoeft Suite, Rudy Wiedoeft
Quartet for Four Saxophones (1989), Anita D. Perry
Saxophone Quartet No. 4 (1976), Russell Howland
As the World Passes Quickly Below Me, I Fly to My Creator (1996), Michael Zak
Scherzo for Saxophone Quartet (1984), Dick Hyman
Mass Transit (1989), David P. Jones
Buffalo News
Buffalo, NY
Nov 19 1996
Herman Trotter

Contemporary music written specifically for four saxophones (no transcriptions) made up the bill of fare for Monday's concert by the Amherst Saxophone Quartet.

Well, there was one transcription, the concluding "Rudy Wiedoeft Suite," which included three pieces for solo sax by Wiedoeft, a sort of father figure in the sax world, arranged for quartet by Ted Hegvik. The outer movements were ragtime infused, played with footloose abandon, and separated by a charming waltz with tantalizingly exaggerated rubato. Read more »

Jones, David P.

Jones, David P. submitted his 1989 composition, Mass Transit for Saxophone Quartet, to the ASQ's International Composition Competition. We liked the piece enough to award it honorable mention as one of the best of more than 120 works that we received.

Mass Transit (1989), David P. Jones

Sax Quartets 1978 - Present
Composer First Names: 
David P.
Composition Date: 
Composed for the ASQ: 
Sound Samples
Walk the Walk
Nantucket Crossing
Subway Dance
Syndicate content