Saxophone Quartet No. 4 (1976), Russell Howland

Amherst Saxophone Quartet finds modern music that fills the bill

Works reviewed: 
Rudy Wiedoeft Suite, Rudy Wiedoeft
Quartet for Four Saxophones (1989), Anita D. Perry
Saxophone Quartet No. 4 (1976), Russell Howland
As the World Passes Quickly Below Me, I Fly to My Creator (1996), Michael Zak
Scherzo for Saxophone Quartet (1984), Dick Hyman
Mass Transit (1989), David P. Jones
Buffalo News
Buffalo, NY
Nov 19 1996
Herman Trotter

Contemporary music written specifically for four saxophones (no transcriptions) made up the bill of fare for Monday's concert by the Amherst Saxophone Quartet.

Well, there was one transcription, the concluding "Rudy Wiedoeft Suite," which included three pieces for solo sax by Wiedoeft, a sort of father figure in the sax world, arranged for quartet by Ted Hegvik. The outer movements were ragtime infused, played with footloose abandon, and separated by a charming waltz with tantalizingly exaggerated rubato. Read more »

Howland, Russell

1908 —

Howland, Russell, was a saxophonist and composer from California. He composed ten saxophone quartets for his own quartet to perform. Only the first two works were published, and both of those have been in the ASQ's repertory since the early 1980s. We had heard rumors that Mr. Howland had written more quartets, but we were told that they were unpublished and unavailable. In 1994, the ASQ performed with Raymond Harvey and the Fresno Philharmonic Orchestra. During the rehearsal, we were approached by one of the Orchestra's musicians who had been a member of the Howland Quartet. Read more »

Saxophone Quartet No. 4 (1976), Russell Howland

Sax Quartets 1857 - 1977
Composer First Names: 
Composition Date: 
Composed for the ASQ: 
Sound Samples
Slow, Allegretto
Syndicate content