Quartet No. 3 (1976), Russell Howland

Quartet takes a look at new compositions

Works reviewed: 
Quartet No. 3 (1976), Russell Howland
Tetraloque (1990), Richard Willis
Saxophone Quartet #2 (1992), Bernard Hoffer
Saxophone Quartet (1980), Steve Cohen
Four, for Tango (1987), Astor Piazzolla
Buffalo News
Buffalo, NY
Jan 30 1996
Thomas Putnam

The Amherst Saxophone Quartet has a drawer that holds music it may someday perform in concert; now that drawer's a little less full.

The ensemble played four new saxophone quartets, composed between 1976 and 1992 its "Pushing the Edges" program Monday night in the University, at Buffalo's Slee Concert Hall on the North Campus. Read more »

Howland, Russell

1908 —

Howland, Russell, was a saxophonist and composer from California. He composed ten saxophone quartets for his own quartet to perform. Only the first two works were published, and both of those have been in the ASQ's repertory since the early 1980s. We had heard rumors that Mr. Howland had written more quartets, but we were told that they were unpublished and unavailable. In 1994, the ASQ performed with Raymond Harvey and the Fresno Philharmonic Orchestra. During the rehearsal, we were approached by one of the Orchestra's musicians who had been a member of the Howland Quartet. Read more »

Syndicate content