The Art of the Fugue, J.S. Bach

Quality shows

Works reviewed: 
The Art of the Fugue, J.S. Bach
Motherless Child Variations (2002), Perry Goldstein
Quartet for Four Saxophones (1989), Anita D. Perry
Making the Frozen Serpent Dance (2001), Davide Zannoni
Yuppieville Rodeo (1993), Mike Mower
Phantom Melos, Rocco DiPietro
Buffalo News, The
Buffalo, NY
Nov 22 2002
Jan Jezioro

Earlier this year, the Amherst Saxophone Quartet was knocked out of their position as quartet-in-residence at the University at Buffalo, not for any reason that was based on their level of artistic accomplishment (round up the usual weak-kneed suspects: budgetary shortfall, etc.). Thursday evening, at their Allen Hall concert, broadcast live on WBFO, the ASQ clearly demonstrated by their high performance level that they were by no means ready to throw in the towel. Read more »

Classical Recordings

Works reviewed: 
The Art of the Fugue, J.S. Bach
Badinerie, BWV 1067, Johann Sebastian Bach
Overture No. 6 in g minor BWV 1070, Johann Sebastian Bach
Fantasia and Fugue in c minor BWV 537, Johann Sebastian Bach
Suite No. 1 in C Major, BWV 1066, Johann Sebastian Bach
Fugue in G Major, BWV 577, Johann Sebastian Bach
Concerto No. 1 BWV 592, Johann Sebastian Bach
Washington Post, The
Washington, DC
Apr 2 1989
Joseph McLellan

Authentic Instruments: Tried and True [taken from a review of multiple recordings] Let me hasten to add that authentic sound is not the only value in the performance of old music. A prime and current example from MCA Records is Bach on Sax (MCAD-6264), Read more »

from The Art of the Fugue, J.S. Bach

Baroque Transcriptions
Composer First Names: 
Johann Sebastian
Michael Nascimben or Stephen Rosenthal
Composition Date: 
Composed for the ASQ: 
Sound Samples
Contrapunctus I
Contrapunctus III
Contrapunctus V
Contrapunctus IX

You are missing some Flash content that should appear here! Perhaps your browser cannot display it, or maybe it did not initialize correctly.

Syndicate content